Building a Better

The fourth word of the album’s title is written in a similar style to that used in Mad Libs, as a blank with the word (noun) under it. This has led to some confusion on how to pronounce the title out loud. Frontman Ladd Mitchell has said they just refer to it as “Building…” or “Building a Better”. The working title for the album had been “Building a Better Pirate”, but the band changed it to a blank as they felt it was too whimsical. On July 22, 2008 Vega Vinyl released “Building A Better ______” on vinyl. An acoustic b-side entitled “Eraser” was later released online.

Ladd Mitchell was the primary songwriter for the album. The album’s lyrical content came from personal experiences of Mitchell such as relationships and dreams.

Track listing

  1. “The Trophy Wife – 3:56
  2. “Mississippi Burning – 3:43
  3. “Who Is Aliandra – 3:39
  4. “Angles and Errors – 3:16
  5. “A Message – 3:45
  6. “Chica Chica – 3:15
  7. “La Amoureux – 4:05
  8. “Irukandji – 4:26
  9. “Intro – 2:12
  10. “Hide and Seek – 5:01
  11. “A Message (Acoustic) (Bonus Track) – 3:31
  • Release Date : October 2006

  • Producer : Cameron Webb

  • Label : Lobster

Buy This Album